I Want to See the Ugly Too

This weekend I finally tried an aerial silks class…and it was crazy tough! I am not going to say that it was so fabulous and amazing…but it was definitely fun to try because I love artistic and creative fitness. I was not feeling well yesterday morning, but I forced myself to go because I had already late canceled for this class other day and the owner was letting this one slide. Now I have pole danced before…but I think aerial silks is definitely harder. In pole dancing you can have a proper grip around the pole, but with the silks, your hands are just gripping the fabric and you are holding on even tighter. I was told that it was normal for your hands to hurt but that it goes away…but my fingers were still sore the next day…I really hope this is not some sign of any future arthritis! I was not able to climb the silks, but I did do an inversion…as you can see from the pic…so I was very happy with that…although I had to stop after awhile because I was feeling woozy from all the blood rushing through my head. I was very sore the next day…but it was a good sore…and I have burns on my shoulders from the silk…well I guess they say No Pain No Gain right?? But…I think I might just opt to go back into pole dancing…I think it’s less ‘painful’…

img_8917

Something else that I did this weekend to feed my soul was chatting with my best friend who lives all the way in New York…and we started talking about realism and social media. I mean…who and what is real anymore? We are inundated with images of people leading these so called ‘perfect lives’ without sharing any of their imperfections and struggles…it’s no wonder people are struggling to recognize their self worth. I’ll admit that I have also been a victim to this façade that people portray. I think…God…they look so pretty and so put together and so happy…but you know what…it is bullshit. It is dehumanizing. You know what I want to see and hear? The good along with the bad…because that is what makes us human…that is what connects us to each other. Being exposed to this unrealism can just perpetuate the notion that we are not enough…not happy enough…don’t have enough…and that we need MORE. I have a colleague who is happy ALL THE TIME. And honestly…it really gets on my nerves because I started to feel like I was not normal being someone who expresses irritation and sadness and anger…but being normal is feeling ALL emotions…along with the happy. But because I have fallen victim to the ‘happiness’ of social media from time to time…I will take the Facebook app off my phone and sometimes I will even de-activate my account. At the time of writing this post…I have not logged onto Facebook in 48 hours and I have noticed that I have not felt bad about myself for 48 hours!! Coincidence…I think not!!

So think twice before you fall down that hole of despair and envy when you are browsing through someones Facebook feed and Instagram pics…what are you missing from your life? How can you better spend those hours instead of mindlessly scrolling through other people’s lives? What can you do to feed your soul so you can find contentment and gratitude for what YOU have? Because I bet that someone is looking at your life and wishing they had it all…just like you.

2 thoughts on “I Want to See the Ugly Too

Leave a Reply

